Founders and Board of Directors

Sunengy Pty Limited is a private company incorporated in 2005 operating out of Sydney and the Hunter Valley, Australia and has developed and patented Liquid Solar Array (LSA) concentrated solar power collector. The company intends to carry out product designing & modeling activities in house, incorporating contracted specialists and consultants; and license manufacturing and distribution globally. Sunengy if focused on providing clean energy with fossil fuel price parity.

Board of Directors

Mr. Peter Wakeman: Chairman and Executive Director Business Development

Peter Wakeman

Peter was a co-founder of Sunengy and brought a strong business background to the company. He has extensive experience in human resources; business analysis and development; sales and marketing. Peter is Chairman of the Hunter Trade College and has a marine trade background; he has also held other Chair and National Marketing Executive positions. Before joining Sunengy full time in 2009, Peter was for 11 years a Partner and General Manager of a very successful motor dealership employing 55 full time staff .

Mr. Philip Connor: Executive Director and Chief Technology Officer

Phil Connor

LSA inventor and co-founder, Phil is a scientist and engineer based in Sydney, Australia who conducts innovative research and development in a variety of fields including solar energy. He gained an Electrical Engineering degree, Sydney University, 1973; Masters Degree in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, University of New South Wales, 1982; spent seven years at Macquarie University conducting research into speech and music using Fourier analysis and development of a fast digital signal processor. Currently eighteen years with the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organization (CSIRO) developing electro-optical instruments for the remote sensing and classification of minerals for the mining industry using spectroscopy. Phil has had a 45 year passion for solar power and embraces a very thorough understanding of solar technologies.

Mr. Rahul Shah: Director

Rahul Shah

Rahul is Vice President-Strategy & Business Development, Tata Power. Rahul joined TATAs through the Tata Administrative Service in 1990 after completing his MBA from Symbiosis Institute of Business Management, Pune. He has held several challenging assignments in different Tata companies spanning the media, telecommunications and power sectors, during his 21 years with TATAs. In his present role in Tata Power, Rahul is responsible for the development of  corporate strategy  and for developing new business opportunities in generation,  transmission and distribution. This includes Greenfield, Brownfield and M&A activities in India and abroad. He is also responsible for the renewable energy business in Tata Power.

Company Secretary

Kathleen Sotomayor: Kathleen is based in Sydney and has a background in law having obtained both her Law and Arts degrees from the University of Wollongong. She has worked as a solicitor in a top tier firm, for the Commonwealth government and in community legal centres. Since turning her talents to accounting, Kathleen has specialised in account management and human resources for small to medium enterprises and non-profit organisations.


Mr. Bruce Robinson:

Bruce Robinson

Bruce has a first-class honors degree in physical chemistry. He has worked at CSIRO in mineral exploration research. Bruce has studied forecasts of a coming decline in world oil production since 1996 and has presented a number of papers on the topic. He has been invited to speak on “The Impact of Oil Depletion on Australia” in Lisbon in May 2005 and at the International conferences in Beijing, Kyoto and Perth.